HOF: Eddie’s In.

The Hall of Fame has a new member from the state of Oklahoma – Oklahoma State, to be exact.

Eddie Sutton

Collegiate Hall of Fame Elects OSU's Eddie Sutton (Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images)

Sutton took four teams to the NCAA tournament – Creighton, Arkansas, Kentucky and Oklahoma State – to the NCAA Tournament, and was the first to have accomplish the feat. His 16 year tenure at Oklahoma State ended after a DUI charge led to his resignation. He finished with an 804-326 record.

In 1978, he took Arkansas to the Final Four, and did the same with Oklahoma State in 1995 and 2004.

He coached teams to 5 conference regular season or tournament titles, and the Cowboys to 13 NCAA tournament appearances. Sutton is one of only 4 coaches to have 800 career coaching victories.

Others named Monday to the HOF include players Chris Mullin (St. John’s), Cazzie Russell (Michigan), and Ralph Sampson (Virginia). Named as Founding Class Members were Bob Knight and James Worthy. Contributing members named were broadcast pioneer Eddie Einhorn and former Yale coach Joe Vancisin.

This entry was posted in News, Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *